press

For media professionals and travel partners, the Global Communications team covers the latest news and updates for The Majestic Malacca and YTL Hotels' portfolio of luxury brands.

news

The word Peranakan conjures up exotic images of another time; of cultures entwined; of religions, languages and customs intermingled; of culinary recipes combining the best of several worlds; of ceremonies, feasts and festivals that belong to a former time but still echo down to us through the centuries today.

READ MORE

press contacts

CORPORATE COMMUNICATIONS

WORLDWIDE
Luke Hurford
Senior Vice President, Sales & Marketing
lhurford@ytlhotels.com.my

Geraldine Dreiser
Vice President, Marketing & Communications

Jessica Yong
Director, Marketing & Communications
jessica.yong@ytlhotels.com.my
GLOBAL PUBLIC RELATIONS

AUSTRALIA
Colleen Giblin
GTI Tourism
colleen.giblin@gtitourism.com.au
Tel: +61 2 8077 3538

CHINA
Mavis Zheng / Augie Vong
Sinomedia Global Pte Ltd / YTL Hotels
mavis.zheng@ctvgb.com.cn / augie@ytl.com.sg
Tel: +86 1370 102 4827 / +65 6309 5692

FRANCE
Laurent Myter
YTL Hotels
lmyter@ytlhotels.com.my
Tel: +60 3 2783 1000

GERMANY
Barbara Lueers / Bettina Faust
Lueers/Faust Partner PR GmbH
info@lueersfaust.com
Tel: +49 89 2166 9451

SINGAPORE
Madina Kalyayeva
RSVP Singapore
mkalyayeva@rsvp-agency.com
Tel: +65 6 225 4045

UNITED KINGDOM
Charlotte Rous
Grifco PR
charlotte@grifcopr.com
Tel: +44 207 385 7090

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Gabriele Sappok / Andreas Sappok
Imagine Communications
gabriele@imagine-team.com / andreas@imagine-team.com
Tel: +1 212 922 1961

press releases



The Grand Lady of Malacca

THE GRAND LADY OF MALACCA

Formally a private residence, The Majestic Malacca was built in 1929 for a prominent Chinese tycoon who acquired the land from St. Peter's Church. The land lies on the riverbank of the Melaka River and encompassed the present hotel site and the adjacent land currently occupied by a hospital. It was an expansive six-room mansion and was built in an architectural style that was a unique mix of Straits and Neo-classic architecture.

DOWNLOAD PDF
The Crown Affair at Spa Village

THE CROWN AFFAIR AT SPA VILLAGE

Inspired by the elaborate and colourful 12-day Peranakan Wedding Ceremony, the pre-treatment hair care ritual at Spa Village Malacca take on a unique spa theater experience while under the therapist's ministrations to soothe and pamper the crowning glory of guests. Based on tradition, the bride's hair is prepared by cleansing and massaging the hair and scalp before a gentle combing of the tresses. As a finalé conducted only for female guests, jasmine flowers are clipped onto the hair to conclude the ritual. Malacca fruit tea is served at the Spa Relaxation Lounge before guests continue with their spa treatments.

DOWNLOAD PDF
Journey Through Time

JOURNEY THROUGH TIME

Guests staying at The Majestic Malacca can relive history through a fascinating guided historical walk offered complimentary to hotel guests. Lead daily by The Majestic Malacca's own resident historian, the informative walk passing prominent historical landmarks of this 600 yearold coastal port, weaving a beguiling journey through an enchanting heritage.

DOWNLOAD PDF

media pack

Download PDF

FACTSHEET

< !-- End RealRate script -->