PRESS

For media professionals and travel partners, the Global Communications team covers the latest news and updates for The Majestic Malacca and YTL Hotels' portfolio of luxury brands.

NEWS

The word Peranakan conjures up exotic images of another time; of cultures entwined; of religions, languages and customs intermingled; of culinary recipes combining the best of several worlds; of ceremonies, feasts and festivals that belong to a former time but still echo down to us through the centuries today.

READ MORE

PRESS CONTACTS

CORPORATE COMMUNICATIONS

WORLDWIDE
Luke Hurford
Senior Vice President, Sales & Marketing
lhurford@ytlhotels.com.my

Geraldine Dreiser
Vice President, Marketing & Communications
geraldine@ytlhotels.com.my

GLOBAL PUBLIC RELATIONS

UNITED KINGDOM
Charlotte Rous
Grifco PR
charlotte@grifcopr.com
Tel: +44 207 385 7090

AUSTRALIA
Naomi Joyce
GTI Tourism
naomi.joyce@gtitourism.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9028 3592

FRANCE
Paul Terrel / Grazyna Bilinska
Poles Production & Communication Ltd
paulterrel@polesltd.co.uk / gbilinska@polesltd.co.uk
Tel: +33 1 4276 0877

GERMANY
Sabine Schramek
saschPR
info@saschpr.com
Tel: +49 17 2986 7587
GREATER CHINA
Mavis Zheng
Sinomedia Global Pte Ltd
mavis.zheng@cctvgb.com.cn
Tel: +86 1370 102 4827

JAPAN
Reina Endo
TrainTracks Inc.
ytl@traintracks.jp
Tel: +81 03 5738 4177

SINGAPORE
Jacqueline Cai / Sandy Choo
Ogilvy Public Relations Singapore
jacqueline.cai@ogilvy.com / sandy.choo@ogilvy.com
Tel: +65 6213 9974 / +65 6213 7871

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Gabriele Sappok / Andreas Sappok
Imagine Communications
gabriele@imagine-team.com / andreas@imagine-team.com
Tel: +1 212 922 1961

PRESS RELEASES

THE GRAND LADY OF MALACCA

Formally a private residence, The Majestic Malacca was built in 1929 for a prominent Chinese tycoon who acquired the land from St. Peter's Church. The land lies on the riverbank of the Melaka River and encompassed the present hotel site and the adjacent land currently occupied by a hospital. It was an expansive six-room mansion and was built in an architectural style that was a unique mix of Straits and Neo-classic architecture.

DOWNLOAD PDF

THE CROWN AFFAIR AT SPA VILLAGE

Inspired by the elaborate and colourful 12-day Peranakan Wedding Ceremony, the pre-treatment hair care ritual at Spa Village Malacca take on a unique spa theater experience while under the therapist's ministrations to soothe and pamper the crowning glory of guests. Based on tradition, the bride's hair is prepared by cleansing and massaging the hair and scalp before a gentle combing of the tresses. As a finalé conducted only for female guests, jasmine flowers are clipped onto the hair to conclude the ritual. Malacca fruit tea is served at the Spa Relaxation Lounge before guests continue with their spa treatments.

DOWNLOAD PDF

JOURNEY THROUGH TIME

Guests staying at The Majestic Malacca can relive history through a fascinating guided historical walk offered complimentary to hotel guests. Lead daily by The Majestic Malacca's own resident historian, the informative walk passing prominent historical landmarks of this 600 yearold coastal port, weaving a beguiling journey through an enchanting heritage.

DOWNLOAD PDF

MEDIA PACK

Download PDF

FACTSHEET

  • NEWSLETTER SIGN UP